Travel

Riding the blue line from O’hare to downtown Chicago for a work conference. Full disclosure: I’m writing this on my phone. I look up and down the line of fellow travelers and only about half a dozen are talking with their neighbors. The other 95% are glued to screens. It would probably be fair to say that most of those 95% are traveling by themselves, as I am, and thus aren’t interested in striking up a conversation with the person sharing a barely-upholstered plastic seat, but the overall impression is one of isolation in the midst of a crowd. 

I really wish Jen were here so that I could have her to talk to instead of pecking away at this phone. Planning on a lakefront trail run tonight whenever I finally make it to my hotel. Unseasonably warm for November in Chicago.  

 

Leave a Reply

