Male Bonding

I arrived home after work last night at approximately 6:00 PM. Jen was pushing Maryellen in the stroller, I forget what Parker was doing, and Avery was laying in a heap underneath the magnolia tree. Apparently, he had just fallen out of the tree and was now gathering his dignity. We went to check on him and he said “my arm hurts.” After dusting him off, we asked him to show us where his arm hurt and he pointed at his right wrist. After ruling-out any obvious deformity and giving it a kiss, it was off to dinner. Jen and I discussed her history of broken bones as a child and agreed to take him to his pediatrician in the morning if he continued to have pain.

Li’l Avery is not a big eater, this is obvious when looking at him. That being said, he began to cradle his right arm and refused to eat anything at the dinner table. Jen and I shared a knowing look. It was off to the ER just to be sure. Our first clue that he was okay should have been his willingness to hop in the car to go. The last time he went in as a patient, he came out with 3 staples in his scalp. Before we left, I examined his wrist and he did have tenderness…

Thankfully, the ER wasn’t too busy, so we quickly met the nurse in triage who asked Avery a lot of questions. In the midst of this first exam, he decided to show the nurse how strong he is by flexing every muscle in his body simultaneously. This is a sight to see. Imagine my chagrin when Avery tells the nurse that his left arm hurt (see above for complaint of right arm pain). This was my second clue that he was neither going to require surgery nor a cast. Not to be a quitter, from there it was off to X-Ray.

In 2010, there is still no better (more likely cheaper) way to shield your body from unwanted radiation than by using a lead apron. They gave me an adult sized one so that I could stay with Avery in the X-Ray room. They also had a child-sized lead apron that went around Avery’s waist (see below). The X-ray tech informed me that this was to “protect his reproductive organs.” I had to chuckle at that. Avery proceeded to ask me what the shield was for. I could only tell him that “It would take too long to explain.”

Third clue that I was flushing good money down the drain was the other young boy with an obviously-broken leg getting an X-Ray in the room next to us. Thankfully, we made it to the Fast Track version of the ER and were seen and discharged rapidly. No sling, no cast, no narcotics, no bill. Home again at 10:00PM and off to bed. That’s not how I planned to spend my Monday night, but I guess that’s what I signed up for when he was born. Thankfully, his reproductive organs were preserved so that maybe he can experience that some day…

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Male Bonding”

  1. janie Says:

    hahaha. that is amazing. aw, silly lil’ avery!

  2. mixonitup Says:

    He continues to keep us on our toes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

