Tuesday Night at the Ryman

Still a little tired this morning, ain’t as young as I once was. Jen and I went to see The Swell Season last night at the Ryman. It was our first visit to the Ryman and there is not a bad seat in the house. Justin Townes Earle and friends performed the opening set. For those who are unfamiliar, he is Steve Earle’s son. Undeniably ecclectic in dress and mannerisms, but the boy can flat out write and sing. A great opening act and someone I’d see again. I’ll toss a youtube clip of him next:

The Swell Season then took the stage for 2 and 1/2 hours. The opener:

Glen Hansard is very engaging with the audience. He strikes me as a man who loves very deeply and has had his heart broken painfully several times. When this happens, he sings (loudly) of how this feels. Marketa Irglova seems very timid, but her clear voice complements Glen’s well.

It was an amazing show and I’d recommend seeing them to anyone who is able.

One of their new songs “High Hope” was one of their last. I’m not sure if it has been released to date. The youtube clips of them performing it are poor quality, but I’ll include a cover of a guy tearing it up. Hope you enjoy!

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Tuesday Night at the Ryman”

  1. tom meny Says:

    hey thanks for putting up my cover of High Hope. I recently got to meet Glen in L.A. He’s a real genuine class act. Very humble.

Leave a Reply

