Rushing to Catch Up

June 1, 2008 Port Clinton, PA to Eckville shelter (15.2 miles)
Today was sunny and began with a long steep climb. PA is beginning to live up to its “rocky” reputation. I spent several hours working my way through boulder fields. This afternoon the trail was easier and I hiked with “Gray Ghost,” an older man who is also thru-hiking. He was putting in long days and high miles, but his grandson (age 19) is now hiking with him so he is slowing down.

June 2, 2008 Eckville Shelter to Bake Oven Knob Shelter (17.4 miles)
Today was nice and sunny. I got an early start on the first long climb. The PA rocks were tough today. There were several areas which were frankly dangerous, the “Knives’ Edge” and the descent from Bake Oven Knob. There were multiple areas where a misstep or a slip could have led to serious injury. This was made worse by having a loaded back pack. The AT can be tough, but I really question the placement of the trail in some of these areas where the risk for injury is significant.

June 3, 2008 Bake Oven Knob Shelter to Little Gap (near Danielsville, PA) (12.7 miles)
PA rocks covered much of today’s trail. I hiked alone during the morning, coming into Lehigh Gap. Hiking north from there I ran into very steep, rocky trail with multiple segments that can only be described as dangerous. Fortunately I was hiking with Scot, a young man from Kansas who is completing a thru-hike he began several years ago. We were able to encourage one another through the difficult spots. Tonight I am staying at Filberts B & B. There’s nothing like a shower, clean clothes, and a good meal to restore a hiker’s spirit! I expect to reach the N.J. border with 2 more days of hiking.

June 4, 2008 Little Gap, PA to Wind Gap, PA (15.4 miles)
It rained overnight, but had stopped by morning. The day was foggy and pleasantly cool. The trail was rocky and the first climb out of Little Gap was very steep. The fog obscured any views. Scot and I reached PA 33, a huge highway at Wind Gap, and had trouble hitching a ride into town. Finally a young mother with 2 children stopped. She was actually going in the opposite direction, but realized we were hikers and turned around to take us into town. I’m staying at the “Travel Inn” tonight and had a steak for dinner. Tomorrow I’ll hike to Delaware Water Gap which is on the PA border with NJ.

June 5, 2008 Wind Gap, PA to Delaware Water Gap, PA (15.6 miles)
Today was cool and overcast after raining overnight. The first 10 miles were very rocky. I met 2 older ladies who were trying to hike this section. One of them had already fallen once and they had not yet reached Wolf Rocks which were high, steep, wet, and slick. All in all, it was a long hard day. It was also my last day in PA. Tomorrow I’ll shuttle north and slack pack back into town. Two nights in a motel Shannon Inn (? I couldn’t read Jack’s writing-Elaine) sounds great!
Traveler

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

