Still Catching-up

May 26, 2008  Cove Mountain Shelter to Duncannon, PA (Doyle Hotel) 4.0 miles
I planned a short day today so I could re-supply. The Doyle is an old hotel where many hiking stories have been told around the bar. Built in about 1900, it’s way past its prime, but I’m told the present
owners, Pat and Vicky Kelly, have made improvements. They surely offer a friendly oasis for the tired hiker. I’ve been eating more this week and have tried not to push my daily mileage too much. I think I’m less fatigued now at the end of the day.

May 27, 2008 Duncannon, PA to Peters Mtn Shelter (11.4 miles)
I had a big breakfast before starting the day. Hiked out of Duncannon crossing the Susquehanna River, the longest river crossed by the AT. There was then a long climb up to a ridge line where the hiking was
made difficult by the rocks. I stepped on and killed a “pigmy rattler” on the climb. I’ll try to be more watchful because I expect to see more snakes as the weather warms. I’m in shelter tonight with
Scott, who is completing a thru-hike he began several years ago, and Dutch, a section hiker who has been living in the Netherlands for the last few years. Had a nice cooling rain AFTER I reached shelter, so
this was a good day!

May 28, 2008 Peters Mtn Shelter to Rausch Gap Shelter (17.5 miles)
Today was cool and sunny, a good day for hiking. I started slowly because a southbound hiker reported seeing several large rattlesnakes along a rocky ridge I hiked through. I saw no snakes, but I was
certainly on the lookout! I ran into a few other rocky areas, but today’s trail was easier than yesterday. Sheltering tonight with Scott and Dutch.

May 29, 2008 Rausch Gap Shelter to 501 Shelter (17.4 miles)
Today was cool and sunny. I got an early start and worked my way through some rough rock fields. I met a group of Mennonite missionaries who were so interested in talking to a “real thru-hiker” that I chatted with them for a while. I did see one beautiful view where I got my picture made. I met a young thru-hiker “Waldo” who is from Cumming, GA. His name is Sean Reagan and he knows my cousins Brittany and Libby Roming.

May 30, 2008 501 Shelter to Eagles Nest Shelter (15.1 miles)
Today was sunny and the AT very rocky. PA is living up to its rocky reputation. I tripped on a root and fell flat on my face. Fortunately I was NOT in a rock field when it happened and I only got some scratches. I forgot to mention that yesterday’s hike took me to a point where there is less than 1,000 miles to go. Tonight I’m tired and a little sore because of the fall. This is one of those times I just need to persevere. Tomorrow I’ll have a short day, clean up, and eat a few restaurant meals.

May 31, 2008 Eagles Nest Shelter to Port Clinton, PA (8.6 miles)
I hiked in a heavy rain for the last hour before reaching the hotel. I got a shower and did laundry before shuttling to a large grocery to re-supply. A large steak dinner and reading a book completed my day. Heading north tomorrow.

Traveler

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

