Last Traveler Update for 3 weeks

It’s official! Traveler has made it to Harper’s Ferry, West Virginia. This is a little over 1,000 miles complete. Not officially half-way, but a landmark nonetheless. I realized that I had named a previous post “Number 83” and failed to explain the significance of the title. When making it to the Appalachian Trail Conservancy in Harper’s Ferry, each through-hiker is given a number, and Traveler is #83.

May 14, 2008 Rod Hollow Shelter to Bears Den Hostel (9.9 miles)
Today was planned as a short day so I could stay at a hostel which everyone reports enjoying. It’s in a large rock home and is run by the Potomac Appalachian Trail Club by a couple who are former thru-hikers. For $25 you get a bunk, shower, laundry, pizza, soft drink, and a pint of Ben and Jerry’s ice cream! Good fellowship and relaxation!! Today I did most of a section of the trail known as “The Roller Coaster”. Its length is about 12 miles and has 10 significant climbs and descents. The streams remained high and everyone has wet shoes and socks. Tomorrow I plan to hike into Harpers Ferry, W. VA and will pass through the 1,000 mile point of my adventure during that hike.
May 15, 2008 Bears Den Hostel to Harpers Ferry, WV (20.5 miles)
I was on the trail early and completed the “Roller Coaster” in the first few miles. The trail in this area is very rocky and slows my speed, but that’s just a part of hiking the trail. The trees are now in full foliage, so the high views from the ridges are limited. I’ll go by the ATC (Appalachian Trail Conservancy) office tomorrow to register my thru-hike with them and have my picture made. I understand I will be assigned a number which will represent how many thru-hikers have made it this far in 2008. Elaine arrives tomorrow so I’ll be taking several zero days.
Traveler

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

