Travels of the Traveler

May 8, 2008 Bearfence Mtn. Hut to Skyland Resort (16.1 miles)
I wanted to hike to Big Meadows Lodge for breakfast! I arrived about 10am, just before they stopped serving breakfast. I ate a huge meal with the appetite of a hungry field hand. I then hiked another 8 miles to Skyland Resort where I’m staying tonight. Had a shower and a great dinner. I know I’ve lost weight, but don’t know how much. Elaine tells me I look like I did in high school except for the gray hair and wrinkles! My appetite is like that of a hungry 16 year old. I’m o.k. with hiker food on the trail, but when I get to a restaurant I’m a serious threat to anything put on my plate! If anyone wants to lose weight while eating anything they want, I’ve found the answer. Hit the AT!
May 9, 2008 Skyland Resort to Pass Mtn. Hut (10.7 miles)
Today was a miserable day for hiking. It was very foggy with frequent rain and a chilly wind blowing. To make it worse I left a motel room with a restaurant and lounge! I started about 9:30am and reached the shelter about 2:30pm. I’m glad to be in a dry shelter because more rain is predicted for tonight. My cell phone has not reception here, but a nice section hiker let me use her phone to call Elaine. Hope the rain ends tonight.
May 10, 2008 Pass Mtn. Hut to Gravel Spring Hut (13.1 miles)
Today was much like yesterday, foggy with intermittent rain and a chilly wind. I didn’t try to hike further because of the rain. Tomorrow I’ll hike to US 522 and hitchhike into Front Royal, VA to re-supply. I’m in shelter tonight with Thud and his dog Max (below), Bog Foot and a young couple, Budge and Pocket Change. I’m on schedule now to meet Elaine in Harpers Ferry, W.VA.


May 11, 2008 Gravel Spring Hut to US 552, near Front Royal, VA (13.4 miles)
It was colder this morning with a chilly wind. The rain held off until I had completed the hike. I’m comfortable now in a Quality Inn in Front Royal. A check of “The Weather Channel” indicates rain with a high of 48 degrees tomorrow. I’m thinking of taking a zero day tomorrow to avoid the cold rain. The last 4 days have been chilly and rainy. This not only makes hiking more difficult, but you also wake up to damp cold hiking clothes. It wears on you after a few days. I’m really looking forward to seeing Elaine in Harpers Ferry, W. VA, this Friday.
May 12, 2008 Front Royal, VA (zero miles)
It’s cold, windy, and raining all day today. I’m glad to be warm and dry in my motel room instead of fighting the weather on the trail. I made phone calls to friends and family. It’s nice to be able to visit by phone.
May 13, 2008 US 552 at Chester Gap to Rod Hollow Shelter (23.5 miles)
The weather was great today, blue sky and high 60’s. Unfortunately, the recent rains turned the trail into a stream in many places. My shoes and socks were soaked early and often. Today’s point of interest was a rock wall which marked a boundary surveyed by George Washington when he was a young man.
Traveler

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

