He’s still hiking

For those that might need a refresher, I’m posting the e-mail updates I’m receiving from a friend who’s hiking the Appalachian Trail. He goes by the trail name Traveler.

May 3, 2008 The Priest Shelter to Maupin Field Shelter (13.6 miles)
Today was a day of hard hiking beginning with a steep descent of The Priest Mountain and then a long hard steep ascent of “The Three Ridges” which is the last mountain above 4000 feet I’ll see until the White Mountains in N.H. I’m in the shelter tonight with Hard Bound(below), who is a physician’s assistant from Roanoke, VA. Also, Mark and his two kids (5 and 9) who are just out for the week-end.


May 4, 2008 Maupin Field Shelter to Rockfish Gap (20.8 miles)
I started early today in order to reach Waynesboro. I did some quick shopping and had a steak dinner. Nothing builds an appetite like walking over mountains with a heavy pack! Today’s hike was notable for the rocky, rocky trail we covered. Made photos of a large black snake on the trail and some beautiful wild azaleas. I hiked most of the day with Hard Bound who is going to leave the trail for a few days later this week. Tomorrow I’ll enter the Shenandoah National Park where the AT runs for about 110 miles.

May 5, 2008 Rockfish Gap to Blackrock Hut (20.0 miles)
I had an early breakfast at the Quality Inn and hit the trail. The trail seems wider and a little smoother in the Shenandoah so far. No fabulous views today, but I’m very near Skyline Drive. Lots of hikers in and around the shelter tonight.
May 6, 2008 Blackrock Hut to Hightop Hut (21.4 miles)
They call the shelters “huts” in the Shenandoah National Park. So far they have all had a water source, privy, bear cables for hanging food, and a dry place to sleep so I can’t complain. Tonight Hard Bound and I are sharing a hut with a group of college students from the University of Florida. They seem to be a good group of young people. I saw lots of deer today.


May 7, 2008 High Top Hut to Bearfence Mtn. Hut (12.4 miles)
I planned a short day today because I’ve just done 3 days of 20+ miles and my legs want to rest a little. Had a quiet afternoon. About 5:00pm a Ridge Runner came in. He’s staying the night and could pass for the twin of my old friend Steve Golder. I got a photo to prove it! Tomorrow I plan to hike on to a motel for a shower and a couple of meals.
Traveler

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

