The Sands of Time

Today is May 14th, hard to believe. Jen and I are currently In the midst of making lists and thinking about packing all the while, trying to figure out where 3 years has gone. We are excited about Nashville and know that we’ll have fun, but this will be our hardest move yet. Listening to a mix on the iTunes yesterday, I came across another that I had heard, but hadn’t listened to in a while.

The Sands of Time Are Sinking

1. The sands of time are sinking, The dawn of heaven breaks;
The summer morn I’ve sighed for -The fair, sweet morn awakes:
Dark, dark had been the midnight, But dayspring is at hand,
And glory, glory dwelleth In Emmanuel’s land.

2. O Christ, He is the fountain, The deep, sweet well of love!
The streams on earth I’ve tasted, More deep I’ll drink above:
There to an ocean fullness His mercy doth expand,
And glory, glory dwelleth In Emmanuel’s land.

3. The bride eyes not her garment, But her dear Bridegroom’s face;
I will not gaze at glory But on my King of grace.
Not at the crown He giveth But on His pierced hand;
The Lamb is all the glory Of Emmanuel’s land.

4. O I am my Beloved’s And my Beloved is mine!
He brings a poor vile sinner Into His house of wine
I stand upon His merit -I know no other stand,
Not e’en where glory dwelleth In Emmanuel’s land.

Like sands through the hourglass, so are the days of our lives. Barf. Seriously, a move like this brings a lot into perspective. It’s hard to rest in the knowledge that you will spend eternity in Emmanuel’s land with your brothers and sisters in Christ. That seems so far away and doesn’t fulfill my need for friendship here and now. I’m off to bed and before I know it, Dayspring will be at hand…

Tags:

Leave a Reply

