Shakespeare Friday

This is going to be a really random collection of thoughts from today, only one of which has anything to do with Shakespeare.

1. “Uneasy lies the head that wears the crown”    Henry IV, Part II

 The burden of leadership (in some small way) has fallen to me. Those who take on the responsibilities of leadership also take on the worries that go with them. This is ever apparent to me as I am the acting chief resident, aka the “Junior Chief Resident.” How much fun is it calling an intern on Friday afternoon and telling him that he has to work (unexpectedly) on Saturday and Sunday? I need either a secretary or office hours. And I have no money for a secretary, so all work would be voluntary.

Keeping things in perspective is often underrated. I’ve been peripherally following the presidential election, mainly through talk radio and can’t think of a reason why anyone would want to be president of the US.

2. Mike McPhail Chevron in Oxford, MS had the best chicken-on-a-stick. I’m hungry right now and that sounds good, but it’s a good 814 miles away according to google. I found an article in the Ole Miss student paper on the aforementioned culinary delight. If you’re bored enough to continue reading this blog entry, maybe you’ll follow the link to the article.

3. Tonight is the last night that I am on call as a resident. For the last 3 years, I have spent numerous nights at both Tampa General Hospital and All Children’s Hospital sleeping on crummy beds with plastic pillows. This is kind of a big milestone for me. I really hope it’s a good night, going to a beach party and baseball game tomorrow.

4. Josh Reed (link on right side of page to reedthis) introduced me to an entertaining blog: http://stufffchristianslike.blogspot.com/ Don’t feel like writing much of a review of it, but I do think he does a great job of being entertaining and bringing up some good points.

5. Someone in the hallway was singing Ice Ice Baby. why people? why?

6. As you all know, I’m a big Battlestar Galactica fan and have “converted” another couple. Scott and Jaime James (their blog is also a link on the right side of the page) have just recently started the BSG journey. That’s about all for tonight, guess I should get some work done.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

