My Strength and My Song

We are in the midst of a small group study on Isaiah and discussed chapters 11 and 12 recently. By far my favorite. The theme that we looked at was God’s salvation. The verse that we really discussed in depth and the one that sticks with me the most is 12:2 “Surely, God is my salvation, I will trust and not be afraid. The LORD, the LORD, is my strength and my song; He has become my salvation.” (NIV). What does it mean for God to be my strength and my song? It’s much easier to wrap my mind around God being my strength, but the challenge is to let my song be purely and simply God. I cannot take credit for all these ideas as they were all tossed around through the group. So what does it mean for God to be my song? Am I even conscious of my song?

I turned to an old favorite, Blessed Assurance, for some help. To quote the chorus: “This is my story, this is my song, praising my savior, all the day long.” My song, the music of my life needs to be praising my savior all the day long. FYI: probably not doing a very good job of that. To alleviate my feelings of inadequacy, another songwriter reminds me that “All the fitness He requires is to feel your need of Him. This He gives you, this He gives you, ‘Tis the Spirit’s rising beam.” (From Come Ye Sinners).

I think that a literal outpouring of this song idea is not a bad place to start. What are the words that are springing forth, are they pleasing, encouraging? Are the songs I sing when I’m driving? (Don’t want to take this too far, because it feels good to sing Thunder Road really loud with the windows down). In a more figurative sense, aren’t my actions merely an outpouring of my faith, an interpretive dance of my song? Kinda scary isn’t it?

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “My Strength and My Song”

  1. JJ Says:

    Hi, I stumbled across your blog while trying to remember where the “my strength and my song” verse was in the bible. I hope it’s not weird that I’m commenting.

    I found the questions raised really interesting, and although “Blessed Assurance” is also one of my all-time favorite hymns, the first song that came to my mind was “The Beautiful Letdown” by Switchfoot. It’s a song generally about being an alien in this place and the relief that comes when we as Christians realize that we’re not satisfied by this world because only Christ can truly satisfy. Anyway, the relevant line in the chorus is “I will carry a cross and a song where I don’t belong”. It’s no Thunder Road but I think it’s really well-written and would like to recommend it to you. So…consider it recommended.

    Thanks for your post Mr. or Mrs. Mixon. Something good to think about.

    JJ
    Philippians 4:8

  2. mixonitup Says:

    I absolutely welcome ALL comments to the blog and especially appreciate letting me onto some new tunes. I’m a fan of the website http://www.imeem.com and have enjoyed the song. Will definately give a listen to more of their stuff. Thanks for reading!
    -Avery

Leave a Reply

