Wonderful, Merciful Savior

We sang Wonderful, Merciful Savior this past Sunday and I had forgotten how much I love that song. I want to walk through it.

Wonderful, merciful Savior
Precious Redeemer and Friend
Who would have thought that a Lamb
Could rescue the souls of men
Oh you rescue the souls of men

I think what struck me about this first stanza is the words used to describe Christ. Wonderful, Merciful, Precious. All these to describe our Savior and Redeemer. If I were to list these qualities for a Savior/Redeemer, we probably wouldn’t be too surprised, but how we yearn for these in a Friend! I want to say to my friends out there that I’m not putting you down, just showing how majestic our Lord is in light of us. Of course the image of a Lamb rescuing anything is almost laughable, but God chooses that image purposefully, a mild servant.

Counselor, Comforter, Keeper
Spirit we long to embrace
You offer hope when our hearts have
Hopelessly lost the way
Oh, we hopelessly lost the way

I rarely think about the Holy Spirit compared to Jesus and the Father. It’s probably true of most of us, just look at your prayers. Here we see the Holy Spirit as a Counselor, Comforter, and Keeper. These are very real and needed things in my life, yes? If I saw the Holy Spirit as a gift from God, wouldn’t I long to embrace Him? Alas, I’ve hopelessly lost the way.

You are the One that we praise
You are the One we adore
You give the healing and grace
Our hearts always hunger for
Oh, our hearts always hunger for

The chorus is nice.

Almighty, infinite Father
Faithfully loving Your own
Here in our weakness You find us
Falling before Your throne
Oh, we’re falling before Your throne

Finally we come to the Father. His adjectives are no less impressive. Almighty, Infinite, Faithful. These are excellent terms for God because if I have learned anything about myself in the last almost-29 years, I am not Almighty, Infinite, nor very Faithful. The greater I see God in these terms, the more it causes me to fall before His throne in my weakness. If you’re looking for a good book on prayer (not how-to-pray, but what praying looks like daily), check out A Diary of Private Prayer by John Baillie.

Leave a Reply

