Not funny

So here’s my first ever “ridiculous waste of money” post.

2 calls to 911

1 Ambulance ride

Diagnosis: Pink Eye  

Cost of prescription: $4.00

Cost to US healthcare: over $1,500.                                           

There’s got to be a better way. It costs NOTHING for someone on medicaid to travel to the ER by EMERGENCY ambulance for pink eye. Not to say that I want to impose a fee for ambulance travel, but I hope you can see that this is ridiculous because everyone pays for this.

pinkeye_sm.jpg

4 Responses to “Not funny”

  1. Shimmy Says:

    The U.S. health care system is the best in the world except when your death can be prevented by access to timely and effective health care.

  2. mixonitup Says:

    As a member of the group that is U.S. Healthcare, I completely understand your point. However, The article you referenced in your blog is regarding conditions that are deadly if left untreated. The fact that an ambulance came to her house once and left without taking her to the hospital should have clued mother into the fact that this wasn’t emergent. I neglected to add that info into my original post, my fault. I was merely pointing out how absurd the waste of resources is (aka lack of reasonable control).

  3. Jen Says:

    I’d like to know exactly how our healthcare is the best in the world? I’m not saying this to incite anger, but I hear this all the time and I’ve not seen it all mapped out. Some countries have national healthcare where all citizen’s receive insurance regardless of economic status. I know there may be pros and cons to this, but I’m not sure what they are. I just always hear people saying that The U.S. healthcare system is the best in “the world”. Really? If so, that’s great. I guess I want to know why we’re the best.

  4. mixonitup Says:

    Good question, I’ll see what I can find other than a multitude of random politicians merely saying “We have the best medical care in the world.” I don’t think that counts for much. My gut reaction is that we have a highly publicised health care system. We spend extensive amounts of resources (aka money) on treating everyone, including untreatable conditions that might not get treated in other countries. (I don’t have any hard facts behind that last point). Maybe because there is so much $$ available for healthcare, we are under the impression that it must be the best.

Leave a Reply

