I’m Alright

Don’t know who wrote it, but Jo Dee Messina sings “I’m Alright.” I heard it on the way home today and identified with the following:

Been singin’ for my rent and singin’ for my supper 

I’m above the below and below the upper

I’m stuck in the middle where money get’s tight

But I guess I’m doin’ alright

I also got a letter today that I knew was coming. The American Board of Pediatrics (my credentialing service) has announced the price of the board exam. Mind you, every pediatrician who desires to become board eligible has to take this exam. $1460.00. This doesn’t include the fee for me to get a state medical license ($458). Where do people who are “below the upper” (aka residents) get that kind of money? Unfortunately, they have us by the tail, and there’s no way around it. I did get an iTunes gift card for Christmas, I wonder if I can apply that towards the test?

One Response to “I’m Alright”

  1. mags Says:

    Okay, for real. Brad says the other night, I have bad news and I have worse news, which do you want first?

    Uhhhhh, the worse news, I said.

    The worse news won’t make sense without the bad news.

    Okay, the bad news, I said.

    The board is going to be, like, $1,500.

    GOOOH! What’s the worse news? I asked.

    We have to have it next month.

    They don’t even give you a lot of time to scrape it together, do they??

Leave a Reply

