Occupation

It’s funny the social stimgata accompanying a person’s profession. I purchased a boat-load of DVDs cheaply for the local Hollywood Video (out-of-business sale). Several were for my wife, several to share, but a few for me. One was the A&E film Shackleton, based on the exploits of Sir Ernest Shackleton. In my brief research into the man behind the movie (aka wikipedia), I found a curious point. His occupation is listed as “Explorer.” How awesome is that? That’d be a fun business card to hand out. Of course, most explorer stories involve life-or-death situations, overcoming impossibilities, and lack of comfort, but what should be scary about that? I have compiled a short and non-comprehensive list of explorers interesting to me: Neil Armstrong, Jacques Cousteau, Lewis and Clark, Sir Edmund Hillary, Ferdinand Magellan, Marco Polo, James T. Kirk, and Hernando De Soto. Of course, I had to include Captain Kirk as he boldly went where no man has gone before.

The cynical person may identify with Jerry as he asks George who his favorite explorer is:

George: De Soto

Jerry: De Soto, what’d he do?

George: He discovered the Mississippi!

Jerry: Oh, yeah. Like they wouldn’t have found that anyway.

While yes, certain things would inevitably have been found anyway, there’s the mystery of the unknown and the thrill of being the first person there. It’s probably no surprise to anyone, but I often think of the dawn of commercialized spaceflight soon to come. The likelihood of me making it into space is very remote, however I wonder if my children will have that opportunity. I like to think that it could be a distinct possibility. All that to say, there is something inside me that enjoys a story of discovery and exploration.

Tags:

One Response to “Occupation”

  1. mags Says:

    Captain Kirk? Really?

    What’s really sad is that I knew who James T. Kirk was before you even put the Captain part in the next sentence. You know what’s even sadder? Because of you, I knew who (or should I say what) Number Six and Sharon Valerii were when they were included them in the top 10 sexiest SciFi Channel female characters list of 2007. Or should it be the saddest that I was even looking at a list of the sexiest SciFi Channel characters? I promise it was on one of those yahoo home page things that pops up and their pictures were next to the story.

    I’d also like to give a shout out to my dad, who has seen every single Seinfeld episode and quotes them on occassion.

Leave a Reply

