Thanks Mom!

If it weren’t for glasses/contact lenses, I’d be blind. According to whoever defines these things for our government, a person is legally blind if his vision is 20/200 or worse (and uncorrectable). I found a nifty chart that converts contact lens strength to a 20/20-like vision level. The chart says 20/200 is roughly equivalent to a contact lens Rx of -2 to -2.5. Just for reference, my contact prescription is -5.25 (the further the number from zero, the stronger the lens). The chart unfortunately stops at 20/200, but if you undershoot and guess conservatively, I probably live at about 20/400 or worse. What you perfect people (my wife) can see from 400ft away, I can only see when I get within 20ft.

Inheritance of genes is a funny thing. My boy has my wife’s hair and eyes. I have my dad’s love of Science Fiction (I’m not sure they’ve found what gene that’s on, but I’m pretty sure it’s on the Y-chromosome). I just hope my visual acuity (and propensity for a paunch) avoids my offspring.

Rebel basketball update: 8-0 after getting by Winthrop

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Thanks Mom!”

  1. mags Says:

    Hey, I’m 5.25, too!! If it makes you feel any better, my mom was an 8.

    And, you’ve totally gotten me hooked on Battlestar Galactica. I don’t know whether I’m thankful or bitter at that. We’re about to be on season 3, so no more Netflix help on getting caught up 😦

    We got your message last night, but we didn’t get in until, like, 10 our time so we figured y’all were asleep. We’d love to get together! Brad’s on call tonight, so I’ll charge my cell phone and give you a call! Hope all is going well!! mags

Leave a Reply

