Dichotomy

I woke up at 4:15 am today to the sound of Avery jr. crying. A thunderstorm blew through and rattled the windows, but he was also sopping wet (I think he drank a gallon of water while playing with the hose). In the midst of the storm, I noticed the windows rattled with every thunder clap and wished for a well-built home of my own. But the more I kept thinking about that solid house, the more I kept thinking that I’m just a pilgrim on this earth. It’s was an interesting dichotomy that I turned over for a while, lying listening to the rain. The desire for safety and stability in the midst of the storm and the yearning for that physically here and now vs. the knowledge of a rest, a home in heaven. It’s an incomplete thought at this point, but it made me think…

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Dichotomy”

  1. mixonitup Says:

    My sister called me a goober. Dost thou not suspect my place? dost thou not suspect my years? O that he were here to write me down a goober! But, masters, remember that I am a goober; though it be not written down, yet forget not that I am a goober. No, thou villain, thou art full of piety, as shall be proved upon thee by good witness. I am a wise fellow, and, which is more, an officer, and, which is more, a householder, and, which is more, as pretty a piece of flesh as any is in Messina, and one that knows the law, go to; and a rich fellow enough, go to; and a fellow that hath had losses, and one that hath two gowns and every thing handsome about him. Bring him away. O that I had been writ down a goober!

    All apologies to Shakespeare

  2. caroline Says:

    Well hello Dogberry. Goober was meant in the best sense of the word. As in: “My look at that strapping, stalwart goober galloping by.”

  3. mixonitup Says:

    According to Urban Dictionary.com Goober has many synonyms. What follows is a sampling: goober goob idiot dork loser nerd retard stupid goof goofball doofus geek annoying booger cakebutts confused dumb dweeb freak goobertitis gooftroop peanut shnanners weirdo.

    I must say that I liked Cakebutts and shnanners the best, although I have no clue what they mean.

Leave a Reply

